Core Value: Service

IMG_0508

At the Bridge Church, we have seven guiding principles that help define who we are and what is important to us. These are our core values. We often refer to them as the DNA of our church. They are what makes The Bridge…. The Bridge!

I thought it might be helpful to revisit these values in a blog series and further explain each value and how it shapes the life of our church. Today…we are taking a quick look at our third Core Value.

Core Value 3: Service

It is quite evident that we live in a broken and hurting world. All around us, we are continually reminded of the effects of our own brokenness and sinful natures.
Our homes, our communities, our city…need to know about the only true source of hope in this life. As Christians, we have the privilege and responsibility of showing them Jesus.

They certainly need to hear the gospel of Jesus Christ and as our last core value demonstrated, we are committed to telling them. But, we are also committed to showing them.
The love of Jesus is best delivered by word and deed. We don’t just want to talk a good game…we want to live it out. We are convinced the current culture we live in has grown jaded and cynical to messages shouted at them from a distance. We want to come along side of them and show them the love of our message. The needs are great and we can do even more than pray for them or preach at them. We are to be the “hands and feet” of Jesus, to imitate Him in showing others the love of God. Jesus used words AND He ministered to people in real, practical ways. We want to do the same.

As a church, we desire to see all of our attenders be engaged in their own mission fields by loving others in real and practical ways. We want to build a reputation that we are a church of authentic believers who really do “practice what they preach”. We will continually look for loving ways we may serve our community and the city of Evansville. God loves Evansville and so do we.

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.” (Matthew 25:35-40 ESV)

Leave a Reply

