Life Smells Like Dark Roast

Coffee is good.

Coffee is symbolic of all that’s right with the world.
Except for decaf…that’s of the devil.

I am a fan. Not just a fan of how it tastes. (Which is spectacular) Or of how it makes me feel. (Also spectacular) I am also a fan of the smell of coffee.

20141126-130216.jpg

Not sure why, but there is just something about the smell of freshly ground coffee. It gets my attention and brings to me an awareness of the present moment. It grounds me. (Pun intended) I think that is one reason I like to write in coffees shops.

I know…maybe it is weird. You can silently judge me while I do the same about all of your Scentsy stuff.

All of our senses; touch, taste, smell, vision and hearing were given to us to interpret our surroundings. My brain was the gift given to translate the messages from those senses. My brain tells me what is happening in the present moment and for most of us…it is really good at it! As a matter of fact, it processes so efficiently and quickly that I usually do not have to expend much energy or conscious effort to do it, which allows my mind to do other things. My mind can be freed up to do other thinking. Serious deep thinking. Which can be a good thing! We would not progress very much, individually or as a society, if we didn’t process the things we learned yesterday and make healthy plans and strategies for tomorrow.

BUT, my mind can be a very tricky thing to manage!

It can easily take the events of yesterday, turn them into mistakes that I regret and allow me to ruminate on them endlessly.

-or-

It can easily take my plans for tomorrow, ask endless “What ifs”, and turn them into worries that I contemplate over obsessively like Gollum!

My precious!!!

20141126-125914.jpg

All while completely missing the present moment.

Think about all of the time and energy you waste regretting things of the past and worrying about things that have yet come to pass! Think of all the stress and harm that does to you! I have, in the past, literally “worried myself sick” over some silly thought, that eventually never even happened! What a friggin’ waste! (Yes- I Christian cussed).

I am thankful for the little things. The little things I so often overlook. A sunset. The feel of a cool breeze on my face. The smile of my child. The beauty of my wife’s eyes. The smell of coffee.

It’s these little things that help remind me that life is made up of more than regret and worry. That the present moment is all I truly possess. That what I do NOW means more than what I did yesterday and what I am actually experiencing HERE in this moment deserves more of me than what may happen tomorrow.

God speaks to us in the beauty of the present moment and it moves so fast. See…we are already in another moment. But life is made up of these. It would be such waste not to cherish what has been given.

Let us to learn to live with more than just our thoughts. Life is too valuable and beautiful not to.

Live and live well.

“We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ” (2 Corinthians 10:5 ESV)

Leave a Reply

