52 Weeks of Change : Week 5

20140609-124656.jpg

I know. This should be week 6…but it isn’t. Sorry to mess up the scorecards of those keeping track. πŸ˜‰

I had to repeat week 4. My planning skills were poor at best and I did not take into account the fact that my family was leaving for a few days of camping together and for that time my routines pretty much fell apart. So…I decided to take last week to get them back in order and I have done so. I am observing my daily moments of silence and solitude regularly with no difficulties there. I have converted to drinking nothing but water during the week which has not been that big of an issue. I have written off fast food entirely…which started as a struggle….but I am doing much better. My biggest issue here is that I still sometimes plan poorly and I am caught in the middle of doing something away from home and then getting really hungry. Quick, cheap cheeseburgers are a big temptation at that moment. But…I have stayed strong for quite a few days in a row now and I am hopefully turning the corner on this one. My most difficult challenge so far has been going to bed at 9pm and getting up at 5am. During the summer, my family is on a much more flexible routine which is causing me to occasionally fall into the same. I will stay up to late one night which then makes it difficult to get up at 5 and it can take a few days to “right the ship” so to speak. Camping is not conducive to getting a good 8 hours of sleep. πŸ™‚ But I will continue to try my best as we go forward.

So on to my Week 5 Challenge: No Bread or Pasta

Carbs are of the devil. The problem is…I love carbs. But they have too much control over me…so they have to go. No bread (sandwich bread, rolls, biscuits, pancakes, cakes, waffles etc) and no pastas!

Continue to pray for me! I am slowly seeing the results of these changes and it is encouraging. Until next week!

Leave a Reply

