Personal Files: I Feel Like Frodo

20140220-180745.jpg

If you haven’t noticed, I write a weekly blog. This blog space has generally been taken up with writings that revolve around The Bridge Church (where I pastor). Even if I don’t explicitly mention the church, most of what I write revolves around that week’s message at the church worship service and is geared to reinforce or engage our thoughts that way. I am going to keep doing that. Even if no one is reading it. 🙂 If nothing else, it is good for me and helps with my communication skills.

But on top of that…I also am feeling the call to start a series of blogs that are more personal in nature.

There are 2 things that are very true about myself:

1- I am a communicator and God has called me to communicate. I aspire to be a better writer and use the gifts He has given me to glorify Him. This is a great avenue for that.

2- I am a guy on a spiritual journey. I want to share that journey with other people. Mainly because I think there are a lot of people like me. I mean not exactly like me…I am bona fide crazy! But like me in the sense that they are on a spiritual journey as well. Maybe I will share some little things that someone along the way needed to hear. Maybe in some small way I will give a voice to those who have been searching for it.

I am not sure how it will all unfold but there are a few things I am expecting. It won’t be easy. I am not accustomed to sharing personal things with a larger number of people (that’s assuming anyone will be reading it at all- ha). I will have to force myself out of my comfort zone. I also know that everyone who reads it…will not like it. Frankly, I am going to reveal myself as a pastor who doesn’t know it all or have it all together and unfortunately, that doesn’t always sit very well with everyone. But, I am ok with that. I understand I may lose friends and acquaintances along the way who will vehemently disagree with some of what I will say. They will lose their respect for me and find it unable to still be close to me. I get it. I don’t like it…but I get it. I am prepared for controversy- I think.

I also think there are plenty of people out there who think about, ponder and wrestle with some of the things I will end up talking about and will appreciate that a pastor can freely open up about some of those things. There may be some who disagree but don’t walk away but stay and engage in graceful conversation together about the issues at hand. I am already thankful for those people.

But again, at the end of the day no one reads one letter of anything I write- it will be a good experience for me. I like to think of it as therapy. A little verbal jujitsu! I will come out the other side a healthier person for doing it!

So here is what I ask as I start my Personal Files!

1- Pray for me and that God builds this blog and uses it!
2- Read it! Subscribe to it. Share it. Engage with it. Give me some feedback on your journey as well. Critique…just be nice and don’t hurt my feelings too much. Forgive my occasional grammatical errors, sentence structure and overall communication of thought. I am constantly learning in my process of being a better communicator. I have not “arrived”.

So who’s ready to go on a journey with me? Can we change the world with a blog? Let’s do this.

Brandon Lindsey- Fellow Traveller

Leave a Reply

